Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Alternative Jobs for doctors Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am a college student and i have applied my UCAS application already to do medicine but im having doubts about doing a medical career.

The issue im having in my head is that im not very good with having a serious talk with people all day and particularly not well underpressure, also i get very fatigued quickly (medical issue) so i dont know if i would be particularly good at being on 'high' stress mode 24/7. Looking at the specalist routes i could find on the interweb, they all involved some kind of patient interaction.
    I took interest in the research path for medicine but i havnt been able to find any decent information regarding it and everyone i could find still involved me having to do pateint interaction.
    I know to be a fully qualified i have to complete university and F1,2.
    Is there any other paths i could take with a medicial degree that involves research or the use of chemistry and Maths. (particularly maths)

apart from this I dont find biology as interesting as i do chemistry and maths but im interested in the medicine side of things.
    ontop im also interested in technology, i was looking into changing university application to do radiography but im a bit hesitant on that. I dont really know how exciting it can be and weather there is plenty of job prospects.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by zifoduk)
    I am a college student and i have applied my UCAS application already to do medicine but im having doubts about doing a medical career.