Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I had a natwest student credit card with a £500 limit (which I have used once and paid back straight away). I'm now a graduate so I think I'm able to ask for an increase. I basically only want to increase the limit so that I can rent a car on holiday, and the place I am looking to rent from needs £600 available on your credit card.
    My question is whether I should just ask for an increase to £600 or whether I might as well ask for a bit more, just in case I end up using a different company who needs more or something like that? Has anyone asked for an increase from their student credit card and any idea how much I can ask for without being rejected? (I realise that any advice given is not to be taken as gospel and it's my decision etc)
    I do have a good credit rating at the moment, and am earning money.
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by dandylion1)
    I had a natwest student credit card with a £500 limit (which I have used once and paid back straight away). I'm now a graduate so I think I'm able to ask for an increase. I basically only want to increase the limit so that I can rent a car on holiday, and the place I am looking to rent from needs £600 available on your credit card.
    My question is whether I should just ask for an increase to £600 or whether I might as well ask for a bit more, just in case I end up using a different company who needs more or something like that? Has anyone asked for an increase from their student credit card and any idea how much I can ask for without being rejected? (I realise that any advice given is not to be taken as gospel and it's my decision etc)
    I do have a good credit rating at the moment, and am earning money.
    if you're now working, why not ask for a different type of credit card instead?

ReputationRep: