The Student Room Group

Always overthinking/stressed out

Little bit of background, before I came to uni, I had a really rough childhood with BOTH parents being abusive even after running away from the worse one (mum was verbal, physical & emotional, dad and stepmum just verbal & emotional.) So it's safe to say I have some issues with overthinking among other trauma (flashbacks, nightmares, etc. which are triggered by stressful, usually domestic, situations.) I've never been to therapy or got any treatment just as a disclaimer so I'm not going to put any labels on my mental state, but I feel like you guys need to know this stuff for me to explain.

So recently I moved into a 4 bed student house. I'm in second year and had a rough time last year. Nothing seemed to go right except my course, I couldn't find work, my parents kept putting more and more pressure and threatening me and blaming me, there were arguments in my flat constantly, I made some friends from uni but always felt like the "second best" friend.