Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi all. I need help as to what I should wear to my graduation in early november. Would a dress with beads all over it be too much?
    I am an international student so not very familiar with the graduation dress code in the UK.

ReputationRep:
    For example, would this dress be considered ok (?): http://www.topshop.com/en/tsuk/produ...-beads-6489897

ReputationRep:
    Name:  TS62M09LNAV_Zoom_F_1.jpg
Views: 239
Size:  144.8 KB
    For example, something like this dress. Would it be considered okay to wear this or is it too much?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 15121991)
    Name:  TS62M09LNAV_Zoom_F_1.jpg
Views: 239
Size:  144.8 KB
    For example, something like this dress. Would it be considered okay to wear this or is it too much?
    A lot of unis will actually have a dress code which you will find on their website. In my opinion, a plain white always looks best against the black gown. My uni specified White or black dress for women, and black trousers/white shirt or cultural formal wear (highland attire, etc.).

ReputationRep:
    A dark colour like this would be perfect. It will look good against a black gown and a coloured hood. (Anything brightly coloured or 'floral' looks a bit odd - like you were dressing up for a wedding, and it 'clashes' with the formal look of the gown). Lots of women also go for the 'white blouse/dark skirt or trousers look - and that it also good as again it 'goes' with a formal gown.

Just check that your Uni doesnt have a specific requirement - some (like Oxford etc) do.