Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Struggling to manage time between Sixth Form and working. Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hiya,

I'm a Year 13 student and I'm taking 3 A-Levels whilst working 10 hours a week. I know 10 hours will seem like hardly anything compared to what some people work, but I'm really struggling to manage my time and was looking for some advice.

I do three shifts on weekdays, meaning I have my weekends free. However, I'm currently having to spend basically all day Sat and Sun on my coursework (I've got deadlines within a month for two of my subjects - 4,000 word research projects) which means I've got to use the weekdays to get all of my other homework done plus revision. Trying to cram this in to the two days I'm not working is really difficult.

I'm applying for Oxford so I've got my entrance exam in November and then I have mocks in January. I obviously need to perform really, really well in both of these and school in general and I feel like working is compromising this.

I don't know whether I need to quit my job or not - and if I do, whether to do so before the exam, the mocks or my real exams. Or whether I can get some advice as to how other people have managed their time successfully. I don't think I can cut down my hours - I can either stay or leave.

TLDR; gonna fail my a levels if I keep working - how can I manage my time better or should I quit...and when?
    • TSR Support Team
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    This is a common issue for students studying A Levels. From my own experience, I found it best to work part time until around February/March time and then quit and study hard. It might be different for you because of your additional workload and Oxford aspirations.