Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

What is the most effective way to revise A LEVEL English Literature watch

ReputationRep:
    I revised quite a bit for AS (could have done more though) but I only managed a B (1 mark off an A ( ) and I think I just didn't revise effectively/efficiently. I don't want to make the same mistake this year as I am aiming to achieve an A.

So my question is to anyone who has done or is doing A level English lit who has a good revision method, what is the best way to revise that will give me good results? I know revision is far from a one size fits all approach, but general efficient revision techniques are quite similar, I think.

P.s. The texts that I'm studying are 1984, Handmaid's tale (dystopia), A Streetcar Named Desire, Twelfth Night, A doll's house and the 15 Christina Rossetti poems if anyone else is studying the same ones as myself.
    Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I got A*/A/A* (GCSE/AS/A2) in English Lit.

I mainly revised by creating my own revision document from York Notes, my teacher's notes and my own thoughts. I haven't studied the texts you are (although I've read most). Also, I have found people overstate how much reading of the texts you need. I only read mine once. Sadly you don't really need to understand the story of the texts to get good marks. Overall, I personally found that you don't need that much revision for English Lit. It's not like history or biology in terms of getting marks from content. I think it's more about exam technique and performing on the day. So my revision documents were always not too brief but not that detailed, this allowed me to have some key knowledge which I could frame to fit the questions asked.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by PoliticsandP)
    Hi, I got A*/A/A* (GCSE/AS/A2) in English Lit.