Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Sorry, I don't really know if this is an appropriate place to vent (I'm using the app which is quite difficult to navigate), but I'm having a confidence crisis.

Basically, I'm 28 and in my Year 2 of a BSc (hons) Natural Science (Biology) with the Open University. I have academic year 2017-2018, 2018-2019 and 2019 summer 2020 until my degree is complete (because I'm doing it semi part time [more than half time but less than full time]- two young children and disabled husband).

I'm aiming at GEM for Sept 2020. Academically I think I'll be ok in terms of my BSc. My credits for year one resulted in a distinction (I know this doesn't actually count for classification) with an average mark exceeding 90% for every assignment/ exam. I'm hopeful this will continue through my remaining years and I'll achieve a 1st class degree?

I'm slowly getting my head around the GAMSAT and feel like I'm heading in the right direction, but I'm slightly concerned because my head is markedly scientist rather than section 1 and 2. I plan on sitting the GAMSAT Sept 2018, so as to spread my on going exams out a bit, also, if I do appallingly, it gives me 2 more chances before 2019 application. I have purchased a healthy amount of practise material, so hopefully my score will improve with greater test practise.

I'm just having a bit of an existential crisis-> that's probably being way over dramatic and a result of far too much caffeine, but I am really concerned that I'm not good enough to compete with the middle class graduates for that 10:1 place.