Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    This is my personal statement from when I applied last year. I hope it helps some of you.

Universities applied:

Nottingham University (Offer)
    Queen Mary University of London (Offer)
    Aston University (Offer)
    Coventry University (Offer)
    Birmingham City University (Offer)

I hope that this personal statement supports my application to higher education, showing that I am a hardworking and disciplined student, whilst also demonstrating the key skills and motivation I possess for studying computer science. I took the first stepping stone of many in computer science when I was in secondary school. It started with my teacher showing a demo of how to use 'Scratch'- the visual block-based programming language in year 8. I loved how I could control the movements of sprites just by attaching blocks of instructions together. To me, 'Scratch' wasn't only classwork, it was more of a game to me, one that I could control and modify to my liking, and it sparked my curiosity on how programs work.

My BTEC course that I am undertaking has led me to enjoy an understanding of computer science and has provided me with a strong foundation in the subject. The course has made me think more critically concerning the influence that computer science has had in the modern age, and has helped me to become more of an independent learner through researching information from online resources for my assignments. Throughout the duration of this course, I have developed time management skills due to tight deadlines with assignments. Units that I have completed, such as software design and development, have taught me about the fundamentals of programming, such as object oriented programming and programming paradigms. My BTEC course has shown me an insight into what computer science could be like for me at university.