Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Gaining access to universities music department facilities Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm a Chemistry student whose second biggest passion is music. I need access to the universities studio facilities. I've been in contact with a professor from the music department who tells me that what I'm 'requesting is not possible: the studios and associated facilities are for students on Music courses in the same way that Chemistry labs are for students doing Chemistry.' He however recommended I 'talk to the Students' Union about acquiring facilities for students in your position, perhaps through a bid to the Alumni Fund.'

I've just been in contact with the students union and am waiting for their response. Can anyone give me some other useful advice. Maybe someone has been in the same position or has a good idea about how to solve this issue?

Thanks guys, I really appreciate it!
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by Ash7498)
    I'm a Chemistry student whose second biggest passion is music. I need access to the universities studio facilities. I've been in contact with a professor from the music department who tells me that what I'm 'requesting is not possible: the studios and associated facilities are for students on Music courses in the same way that Chemistry labs are for students doing Chemistry.' He however recommended I 'talk to the Students' Union about acquiring facilities for students in your position, perhaps through a bid to the Alumni Fund.'

I've just been in contact with the students union and am waiting for their response. Can anyone give me some other useful advice. Maybe someone has been in the same position or has a good idea about how to solve this issue?

Thanks guys, I really appreciate it!
    See if theres a society or you could start one? If theres an existing one then maybe they can arrange something.