Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello.

I have never worked before and graduated in psychology.

I want a part time job to save money but I'm worried that I will be overqualified if I show employers I have a degree and no experience.

Any advice on what to do?

Also is temping better than retail as they know it is only temporary employment so they will know I won't move off to look for a graduate role?

ReputationRep:
    Have you started looking for graduate roles yet? Sometimes work experience or volunteering can help you land jobs. The problem with part time work is, as you said, you may quit very soon when you find something better. It isn't impossible however. Look for jobs with high turnover, like pubs and restaurants. Temp work is a good idea, but the work contracts can differ based on availability. Sometimes you might go for a month or so without work, so it isn't stable.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    They won't care about your degree, only that you have no experience.

Volunteer somewhere or look for smaller roles but in the industry you wish to work in.

(Original post by iodo345)
    Hello.

I have never worked before and graduated in psychology.

I want a part time job to save money but I'm worried that I will be overqualified if I show employers I have a degree and no experience.

Any advice on what to do?

Also is temping better than retail as they know it is only temporary employment so they will know I won't move off to look for a graduate role?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by hannxm)
    They won't care about your degree, only that you have no experience.

Volunteer somewhere or look for smaller roles but in the industry you wish to work in.
    Thanks for the reply

Do you know for sure that they won't care about the degree?

I have been looking on previous threads and they all say that my cv will instantly be binned. does this depend on the employer then?