Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Is it financially viable to do a second fast-track degree following the first degree? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi.

I am currently studying Economics and Econometrics at Bristol university and I am thoroughly enjoying the course.

However, I have realised recently that my passion lies in the rigour and proofs of pure mathematics; unfortunately, the uni won't let me change to a Mathematics and Economics course.

But this may not be a bad thing as I am very excited to do two degrees; I was thinking about doing a two-year fast-track Mathematics degree after finishing my 3 year Econ Econometrics course (the reason why I am considering a fast-track degree is because of the overlap between my course and the straight Mathematics course and the fact that I have spent some time helping one of my flatmates with their pure mathematics course! This will help to reduce costs in the long run).

I'm a bit confused on how the funding system works for two bachelor degrees; will I be able to get gov't funding? Is the system different when compared to someone doing a 5-year bachelors + masters for one course, for example? What about exemptions for STEM subjects (does a pure mathematics course qualify?).

Thank you for your time!!
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by rebirth61213)
    Hi.

I am currently studying Economics and Econometrics at Bristol university and I am thoroughly enjoying the course.

However, I have realised recently that my passion lies in the rigour and proofs of pure mathematics; unfortunately, the uni won't let me change to a Mathematics and Economics course.