Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Chances of getting onto Finance Grad Scheme after graduating? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I graduated last year - does this put me at any disadvantage when applying to grad schemes? Do employers prefer students applying during their final year?

Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Id imagine that employers prefer to hire people who have recently graduated for their grad schemes. However, there are a lot of exceptions to that. Some of the people I've met moved on to a grad scheme 5 years after graduating. However, in that time they were doing relevant work experience, and the grad scheme was almost a natural progression from the job they had been doing. From my experience, most of the people im working with, it seems to be a mix of people straight out of uni, and some who have graduated a year ago.

In my case, I started my grad job 2 years after graduating. I wanted to go in to banking, and I didnt get a role in banking. I considered taking a year to reapply, but concluded that applying to grad jobs 3 years after graduation, and having done no relevant work experience in that time it was bet not to.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JME1993)
    I graduated last year - does this put me at any disadvantage when applying to grad schemes? Do employers prefer students applying during their final year?

Thanks.
    I went to an assessment centre for one of the large accounting firms in February and 10 out of 12 people had already graduated. in my opinion those that graduated were stronger applicants as they'd been working full time since graduation or were doing masters degrees.

if you have decent work experience since graduating, and can show good examples of the competencies, you won't be at a disadvantage in my experience.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by woodchuck)