Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How would I go about setting this essay out? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi everybody! I am in total peril hahaha!

I am in year 2 of uni and I'm studying History and Creative Writing. Last year I did History as my elective and loved it so much I chose to continue doing it and drop English Literature instead so I haven't had a great amount of practice writing History essays. One of my History modules this semester is Tudor life in England and Wales. For one of our assignments, we have been given 3 questions to choose from and we have to write an essay on the question we choose. This essay IS in for November but I am swamped with work and I am trying to start stuff as soon as we get set it.

The question I have chosen is: Do you agree with the view that the Elizabethan period was a ‘glorious age’?

Now, I have been reading everywhere on how to write at least a 2:1 standard essay for History and every site contradicts the other so I have decided to ask you guys!

I understand the whole reference and bibliography because we did that english and to do reading and take what scholars say and quote it in the essay. I have done 2 hours worth of research today and found out the for's and against's of Elizabeth 1's reign and in my opinion, I do believe her reign was a golden one BUT I have all this but I don't know how to structure this essay. I have no idea how to get all this into essay form.

Please someone HELP!

ReputationRep:
    First paragraph should set out a little of the context of the question and introduce what your argument of the essay is.

Main body talk about your points for and against. Perhaps highlight a few writers' opinions you found interesting, and whether you agree/disagree. You could also use other writers to argue against this! It shows you have read a lot of the information, and applied it well.