Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I feel so lame even posting this, but I'm just struggling and not sure what to do about it.

I'm a med student and after intercalating last year, I'm now in my fourth year of uni. I've just moved into a new house with new flatmates for the start of this year, none of whom I know very well.

First three years of uni- I was fine, I got by. I'm naturally quite shy and introverted, but I made friends with people in halls and I felt like I was doing alright. I lived with three of them for the last couple of years and we got on well, we had some fun nights out. In terms of the course- its great, I'm really enjoying medicine still.

However, at the end of last year most of those friends I had made at uni were on shorter courses and have now graduated. It's since become abundantly clear to me I don't have any close uni friends left. The ones I did have are off intercalating at other unis or have graduated and moved away again.

We've had some introductory lectures the last few weeks before we start placement and I have literally been sat on my own for most of them. There is nothing quite so disheartening as realising you don't know any one in the sea of hundreds of students in your year.

I honestly just feel lost. Everyone, including my new housemates, have their own cliques and groups of friends. How do I make new friends at uni, three years in? I don't know how I did for the first few years. Now seem unable to make any more. What can I do?

TL;DR

Currently friendless in med school and unsure how to make new ones. Help?

ReputationRep:
    Join a sports club maybe?

ReputationRep: