Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello, all!

I'm at some crossroads at the moment as to making a decision on the best route is to medicine.

I am a mature-ish student (23) and have been out of education for five years. Post 16 I came out with pretty terrible grades (no way competitive enough for medicine); reasons were due to personal circumstances from year 10-11.

Unable to take A-Levels due to GCSE grades I enrolled onto a media BTEC diploma - by this point I was over education and ready to be done with it all together (I stuck it out, passed and never looked back). Decided to work full-time, save and figure out what I wanted.

I spent two years travelling the USA and New Zealand. I worked three summers as a youth worker in the USA, which was the spark that gave the incentive to pursue something healthcare related and to work with people.

I have spent the last year working as an HCA at my local NHS trust, which has been invaluable for experience and exposure to healthcare. Alongside this, I have enrolled with a distance learning provider to re-take my GCSE and will be taking my exams in summer 2018.

Should I take A-Levels next year in Chem, Bio and Maths at my local FE College or I could enrol at Durham University; they offer a foundation year to study undergraduate in biological science and would then pursue GEM.

Sorry for the long winded message! I think I just need some guidance from strangers who may have more insight!
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by jakef2008)
    Hello, all!

I'm at some crossroads at the moment as to making a decision on the best route is to medicine.

I am a mature-ish student (23) and have been out of education for five years. Post 16 I came out with pretty terrible grades (no way competitive enough for medicine); reasons were due to personal circumstances from year 10-11.