Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So, I am a first year psychology student and I've just been given my first assignment. The thing is, I have no idea how to format it!!
    My essay question is: "Do brain training games work?"

I have been given a core article to use and I am meant to find other academic articles to use.

I have no idea how to write this as the only way I know how to write essays is the way we were taught in A-Level psychology (point, study, evaluate study and link to point). However, I don't know if that's the way youre meant to write a university-style essay especially since I've heard many people say to "throw away the essay-writing skills you learnt at A-Level because they will not help you".

Anyways, I just want some help on how to structure my essay and how to actually write the main body of my essay (am I just meant to write about the core article and evaluate it with supporting/disproving evidence from other studies? or am I meant to base the essay on my own knowledge as in PEEL - make a point, use the core article to support it, evaluate it with criticism of the core article and other studies I have found).

I'm so sorry if this is difficult to read, ive just been panicking like crazy this whole week but I'm really hoping someone can help me.

Thank you!!

Thank you!!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by starmilk)
    So, I am a first year psychology student and I've just been given my first assignment. The thing is, I have no idea how to format it!!
    My essay question is: "Do brain training games work?"

I have been given a core article to use and I am meant to find other academic articles to use.