Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am currently studying Chemistry, Biology and History at a-level. I'm from NI, looking to study Chemistry, preferably in/near a city, that sort of metropolitan feel with a lot of students if ya get me
    I don't know much about English cities and would really appreciate any suggestions
    In my AS exams I got an A in Chemistry, an A in History and a B in Biology (1 mark off an A :/) and I am aiming for 3 As this year.
    We've started applying for unis in school and I haven't a clue, would appreciate any help. thanksss

ReputationRep:
    Would you consider London, as it is a very expensive and highly populated city?
    However, there are multiple good university located within London

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Epitype)
    Would you consider London, as it is a very expensive and highly populated city?
    However, there are multiple good university located within London
    I was initially considering UCL and would love to study in London, but, coming from a working-class family, the financial burden would be too much I think.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by lukerat)
    I was initially considering UCL and would love to study in London, but, coming from a working-class family, the financial burden would be too much I think.
    I would also think that coming from a working class family, it would be very hard to survive in London. Everything is expensive from the travel, the accommodation and the ameneties.
    How about the University of Manchester, or Birmingham. Nottingham, Bristol and Warwick have very strong departments in Chemistry, with the addition of them being Russell Group.
    Probably your best option is picking universities that are RG in major cities. Also have a look at the Unistats for the courses. They give very good information.
    Also, I study at Warwick, but I do Biomedical Science rather than Chemistry.

ReputationRep: