Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I don't really post a lot on here due to anxiety, but I am in massive need for help and advice if anyone can help.

I have Fibromyalgia and Borderline Personality Disorder as well as other potential (not diagnosed yet) illnesses and I am finding it so difficult to settle into university.

I live in a private rented flat with my partner and haven't had to move or anything as I am a mature student but I am struggling so much with the timetable and the ability to actually go into university. I had the same problems last year on my foundation course but pushed through, but now I am getting so depressed about all of it I don't know what to do!

I keep thinking it may be better for me to just leave university and focus on my health but that would literally mean going on benefits and staring at the walls of my flat.

So my questions are:
    How do you cope with university when you have a debilitating invisible illness?
    How do you push yourself to go into uni when you feel like you physically can't?
    How do you maintain a positive enough attitude to continue?

Thanks in advance x

ReputationRep:
    Fibromyalgia is a horrible disease. It is possible to power through this but you will need a routine which allows you plenty of time to recover and the full support of your boyfriend to minimise stress and tiredness which of course are likely to cause flareups.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by Hundjager)
    Hi all,

I don't really post a lot on here due to anxiety, but I am in massive need for help and advice if anyone can help.

I have Fibromyalgia and Borderline Personality Disorder as well as other potential (not diagnosed yet) illnesses and I am finding it so difficult to settle into university.