Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am currently studying a-level maths, in my second year, and have decided that I am interested in doing mathematics at university, however I am not studying A-level further maths, so I have decided to do the A-level in one year in the next academic year, however it had crossed my mind that the syllabus is changing, how will this at all effect me? Will I be doing FP1 - 3 or will it be totally different? Any help is appreciated.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AA5)
    I am currently studying a-level maths, in my second year, and have decided that I am interested in doing mathematics at university, however I am not studying A-level further maths, so I have decided to do the A-level in one year in the next academic year, however it had crossed my mind that the syllabus is changing, how will this at all effect me? Will I be doing FP1 - 3 or will it be totally different? Any help is appreciated.
    Couldn't you start this year, as it's still quite early?

I'm not familiar with the changes in this case, so I'll tag some teachers.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by _gcx)
    You would be studying the old specification. The new A-level further maths is not going to be sat until 2019.
    That's the problem, I'll sit A-level Maths in next year and then I'll do further, which will be in 2019

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by NotNotBatman)
    Couldn't you start this year, as it's still quite early?

I'm not familiar with the changes in this case, so I'll tag some teachers.
    I can't as the timetable clashes with my other subjects and I'd still have to do the whole A-level in one year

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AA5)
    That's the problem, I'll sit A-level Maths in next year and then I'll do further, which will be in 2019