Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How much do university look at your gcse results? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying maths, further maths, chemistry and physics at a level and i want to study physics at university, preferably a Russell group one.

Are universities likely to care that much about gcse grades or are reasonable grades in physics, chemistry and maths allow me to get into most of the good universites?

I know there are lots of threads already open on this subject but, they aren't as specific as i want them to be and they mostly look at medicine at oxbridge.

ReputationRep:
    Honestly I think your GCSEs results are good enough. You just need to work hard during you a levels as they are more important than your GCSEs. I'm sure you will get to do what you want with those grades

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Amullai)
    I'm currently studying maths, further maths, chemistry and physics at a level and i want to study physics at university, preferably a Russell group one.
    My Gcse grades were
    Maths :8
    Additional Maths: B
    English Language: 6
    Literature: 5
    Biology, Computer science, Philosophy and Ethics: B
    Physics, Chemistry,Engineering: A
    Geography: C
    ECDL: Dist*

Are universities likely to care that much about these grades or are the reasonable grades in physics, chemistry and maths allow me to get into most of the good universites?

I know there are lots of threads already open on this subject but, they aren't as specific as i want them to be and they mostly look at medicine at oxbridge.
    Weeeell, my uni didn't look at my gcse grades at all, but then it's not a russell group, and I had to submit a portfolio and do an interview