Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, i'm currently in Year 11 and i'm deciding which A-Levels i want to take. I enjoy Chemistry and Biology and i was wondering if they are hard and if they are worth taking? Thanks

ReputationRep:
    If you enjoy them and think you'll be able to keep up with the workload, then go for it. I'd recommend at least a grade 6-7 in biology and chemistry so if you're targeted that or above you'd probably be able to cope.

ReputationRep:
    Chemistry and Biology both require around a grade 5 to do for A level meaning you'll have to do the higher paper for them. You'll probably be able to cope with them both if you really enjoy them and don't find them too difficult. Personally, I'm more of a Biology person, I'm also planning to take it for A level.

ReputationRep:
    I'm a year 13 student and I'm doing Biology, Chemistry and Psychology (dropped Religious Studies and am doing an EPQ). In my opinion, they're great subjects and I love doing them! But be warned they are hard, chemistry much more than biology however.

Chemistry is a lot of maths, application and memorising. There isn't too much content compared to the likes of biology and psychology but what there is of it is hard. I personally hate maths and struggle with it and so that's the hardest (and biggest) part of chem for me and certain topics don't go into my head. The amount of times last year I contemplated dropping and nearly broke down due to it is hard to count. HOWEVER I loved (and still love) the subject! I managed to get an A despite struggling with a lot of topics and as long as you work hard, revise and aren't afraid to ask for help I'm sure you'll enjoy it.