Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a second year Biology student and I'm miserable at uni.

I didn't have the best first year, I started off doing Biology and Biochemistry and biochem was THE WORST. I didn't enjoy it after the first few weeks but as I didn't have alternative route in mind, I stayed til Christmas. Then I 'just sat' my January exams, which I passed. And it's kind of gone along like that, just existing at uni and sitting exams and submitting assignments. My hearts never been in it and I scraped by on the bare minimum.

Over Summer, I switched to single honours bio in hope I'd finally get a module that interests me but a few weeks in, I'm bored out of my skull, none of the subject content is interesting or makes much sense. Part of me says I should just suck it up, no one enjoys what they're doing all the time. But part of me says no one should be doing something they really don't enjoy.

I enjoy the living away from home, having more independence etc. but uni life like studying, partying and the rest just never clicked for me. I know people often feel reluctant to go to 9 ams but I have to force myself to go to the lectures I do go to! I feel like I did A-levels (which I didn't enjoy) just to get to uni (which I don't enjoy) so this method of 'just sticking it out' doesn't seem to be getting me anywhere I like.

Should I 'just stick out' the next 2 years or would it be worth dropping out now? Obviously uni has it's perks (3 month summer) and change doesn't always mean you'll be happier. Sometimes you have to make the most of what you've got.

What do you think?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by PollyParrot23)
    I'm a second year Biology student and I'm miserable at uni.