The Student Room Group

I need help with make up!!!

I’m a 16 year old girl in year 12 and my sixth form social is coming up. I’m not a particularly girly girl but I want to wear make to the social but I don’t own any make up and have never really used it!!

Could someone please briefly out line what are must haves for make up at a reasonable price and any techniques I need to be aware of.

When I say I have little experience I’m not lying and I often feel self conscious that many girls do wear make up so I want to Star wearing it more to boost my own confidence.

I’d be really grateful for any input!!
Reply 1
I think the thing is with make up is that it is all trial and error really and seeing what works best for you. I've spent many hours in front of a mirror trying to make my make up look perfect by trying out different applications or different coloured eye shadow etc. haha!
If you don't really want to spend a lot of money and want to have the basics, then I'd suggest finding a foundation that best suits your skin colour, Rimmel, No.7 and Loreal do some really nice foundations in a good selection of shades to choose from. I'd also try finding a concealer to go with it too just to hide any discolouration on your face (such as bags under the eyes!!)
You could try and see how you get on with some blush, you can get blush virtually from every make up brand, you could browse around and see which colours you like. The same really with eye shadows, there are so many colours to choose from from golds to browns to pinks to blues so you could pick and choose what you fancy.
To top it off you could try some mascara, I personally recommend loreal as I've always liked the quality of their mascaras and they make my eyelashes look super long and bold.
You could go for some lipstick/lip gloss too, colours is personal choice but I'd recommend colours that go with the colour of your eye shadow or something along those lines. Obviously you don't have to stick to this :P