Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm a mature student (23) currently applying for undergraduate arts courses and am filling out the UCAS application accordingly. I don't seem to have personal records of my GCSE grades (I have my A levels though), so I've gone with rough guesswork for the grades in the app from what I can remember.

I could call up the examboards for the details, but I'd rather not pay the fee for two different examboards which I know I have the grades from. How important is it that I get these correct for this particular kind of course?

On an additional note, I finished my GCSEs in the wave of 2010 (A levels in 2012) and have been in full-time employment for 3-4 years in the media industry. The minimum requirements for the courses ask for grades but is it possible that the skills and experience I've gained from employment over the years can compensate for a lack of GCSEs?

ReputationRep:
    When a university makes you an offer through UCAS it is a legal contract - they are guaranteeing to accept you on the basis of the information you have provided.

If you just guess your GCSEs and are then asked to provide verification the university are well within their rights to withdraw their offer and your application may be cancelled. That means no university at all this year - you won't be able to apply through clearing if your application has been cancelled for fraud. To be clear, just guessing your GCSEs when making an application is considered fraud.

Many jobs are now asking for proof of qualifications (I'm much older than you and was asked to bring in ALL of my GCSE certificates for my current job). Particularly if you don't have the certificates for English and Maths you might as well order these now as you are highly likely to need them again in the future.