Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi Everyone.

I've been doing some research on potentially doing a degree with the OU, in an
    environment/geography/science related field.

I currently work full time as a secretary and although I've read that many people juggle full time work with part time study, I wonder how feasible this actually is in the real world. Realistically leaving the house in the morning at 7.45 and returning 5.30-ish, making meals etc, and after a day at work how much studying would realistically be achievable? I have read about the 16 hours recommended studying per week for a 60 credit module part time, which seems a lot to fit in around full time work and I don't really want to be spending the weekend solely studying as this is really my only down time. Do many people here work reduced hours to fit in their study?

The other question is about the term dates, do the OU work to the same holiday timetable as other universities e.g. Christmas/Easter/summer holidays?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by rachb01)
    Hi Everyone.

I currently work full time as a secretary and although I've read that many people juggle full time work with part time study, I wonder how feasible this actually is in the real world. Realistically leaving the house in the morning at 7.45 and returning 5.30-ish, making meals etc, and after a day at work how much studying would realistically be achievable? I have read about the 16 hours recommended studying per week for a 60 credit module part time, which seems a lot to fit in around full time work and I don't really want to be spending the weekend solely studying as this is really my only down time. Do many people here work reduced hours to fit in their study?

The other question is about the term dates, do the OU work to the same holiday timetable as other universities e.g. Christmas/Easter/summer holidays?

Thanks