Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi

So I’m a potential mature student (37 eek) and am looking to apply to medicine for 2018 entry.

I’m aware of the GEM 4 year courses but think I will need to apply for some standard 5 year courses too, in order to broaden my options.

I sat the Gamsat in March (65,56,49) and it wasn’t quite good enough. I’ve sat it again but haven’t yet got results.

I’ve also sat the UKCAT and didn’t do great- 2530 and band 1 in situational judgement.

I have a 2:1 BSc Hons and an MSc but am let down by my lack of A levels (D in physics).

So what are my best options? I was thinking:

- Notts GEM (hoping Gamsat is good enough)
    - Another Gamsat GEM not requiring a levels (Cardiff or Swansea perhaps?)
    - Leicester 5 yr (don’t require a levels but do score you on them)
    - Warwick GEM in the very unlikely hope they lower their min UKCAT score (usually 2700+)

Does anyone know of any other med courses (graduate or 5yr) that don’t require good A levels?!

Many thanks :-)
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Potentialmedic?!)
    Hi

So I’m a potential mature student (37 eek) and am looking to apply to medicine for 2018 entry.

I’m aware of the GEM 4 year courses but think I will need to apply for some standard 5 year courses too, in order to broaden my options.

I sat the Gamsat in March (65,56,49) and it wasn’t quite good enough. I’ve sat it again but haven’t yet got results.

I’ve also sat the UKCAT and didn’t do great- 2530 and band 1 in situational judgement.

I have a 2:1 BSc Hons and an MSc but am let down by my lack of A levels (D in physics).

So what are my best options? I was thinking:

- Notts GEM (hoping Gamsat is good enough)
    - Another Gamsat GEM not requiring a levels (Cardiff or Swansea perhaps?)
    - Leicester 5 yr (don’t require a levels but do score you on them)