Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How Marx made the Right - interesting documentary Watch

ReputationRep:
    Interesting documentary about how Marx shaped the modern right and how this is changing. Not entirely groundbreaking but I things into perspective well:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5PA_mKWxQHE

ReputationRep:
    Why is there an obsession on these forums about Marx? Is it something you learn in GCSE politics or something?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ByEeek)
    Why is there an obsession on these forums about Marx? Is it something you learn in GCSE politics or something?
    Actually I studied Marxism at Kent University...

Dont know why you’ve become so ‘triggered’
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Davij038)
    Interesting documentary about how Marx shaped the modern right and how this is changing. Not entirely groundbreaking but I things into perspective well:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5PA_mKWxQHE
    I've listened to a segment in it and will listen to the rest later.

The central argument, which I fundamentally disagree with is the idea that neoliberalism = freedom.

Milton Friedman supported the overthrow of a democratically elected Chilean government and the imposition of a brutal dictator, just because Pinochet was right wing economically. So I won't be taking lectures off 'libertarians' about how they support 'freedom'. Not to mention how economically right wing countries incresingly clamp down on trade unions and their rights. Hardly 'freedom' galore.

Capitalism and neoliberalism are authoritarian structures. In 'free-market' states, you don't get a menanigful choice. Either you participate in the dog eat dog market in which you are only judged on how much wealth you can produce, or you end up on the scrap heap. Qualities such as loyalty, honesty and integrity are discarded. The only thing that matters is how much money you can make. There is no choice or freedom.