Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I graduated with 2.1 in 2003 with a student loan funded degree.

I'm now wanting to do Initial Teacher Training for Primary School starting in 2018 and as I am a single parent I need to be sure of my financial options before applying. I have had a student loan before and haven't been able to pay it back as I have never earned enough.

I need to know if I would qualify for another loan for tuition fees and what other financial help I could apply for because I am the sole wage earner in the house and ITT would mean giving up my job to train full time for the year before hopefully getting a full time teaching job. Both children would be at school and I would probably be paying for childcare at the beginning and end of the school day, for a portion of the week.

All advice is much appreciated. Thank you.
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Farfalla666)
    Hi, I graduated with 2.1 in 2003 with a student loan funded degree.

I'm now wanting to do Initial Teacher Training for Primary School starting in 2018 and as I am a single parent I need to be sure of my financial options before applying. I have had a student loan before and haven't been able to pay it back as I have never earned enough.

I need to know if I would qualify for another loan for tuition fees and what other financial help I could apply for because I am the sole wage earner in the house and ITT would mean giving up my job to train full time for the year before hopefully getting a full time teaching job. Both children would be at school and I would probably be paying for childcare at the beginning and end of the school day, for a portion of the week.

All advice is much appreciated. Thank you.
    Hi Farfalla666,