Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone,

Is it possible to have a job while doing a Masters, especially during practice placement?

I'm interested in a Masters on Social Work, in Scotland. The programs I'm interested in have Practice Placement. I've no external help so I'll need to have a job. I'm an EU student so I'm not subject to Tier 4 student visa limitations but I've no idea if there are other restrictions on this matter.

I've written the universities I'm interested in, one told me that I am forbidden to work while I'm working on Practice Placement (they probably didn't get that I'm an EU student) while the rest simply ignored the question. All steered me towards financial aid services as if I didn't know they existed.

I need to know what and how much I can do on my own before committing to this. Counting on external help which isn't guaranteed and unclear to what extent isn't a way of making a plan. Anyone have any experience on this?

ReputationRep:
    Your placements will be Monday to Friday 9am - 5pm for months at a time. It will be very difficult to work alongside that as it’s like a job. I had a part time job through my social work Masters but I was lucky that they were flexible and I worked weekends during terms but didn’t work during my placements and picked up more hours in the summer/Christmas holidays. It may be the ban on working during placement is about the number of hours. Being on a placement is more intense than being at work as concentration levels will need to be greater while you are adjusting to social work practice.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Vic2028)