Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Is there any funding for veterinary medicine as a second degree?

The thing is, I have a first class BSc but it isn't in a biological sciences subject (physics) so graduate courses won't accept me. I have AABB at A level, and I think entry requirements are usually AAA? I could sit another A level if necessary, but I would like to know if there is any funding for Vet Med as a second degree, as I don't have £45,000 to pay upfront over the 5 years.

Thanks for any help

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by michelleworth)
    Is there any funding for veterinary medicine as a second degree?

The thing is, I have a first class BSc but it isn't in a biological sciences subject (physics) so graduate courses won't accept me. I have AABB at A level, and I think entry requirements are usually AAA? I could sit another A level if necessary, but I would like to know if there is any funding for Vet Med as a second degree, as I don't have £45,000 to pay upfront over the 5 years.

Thanks for any help
    The short of it, no. There’s no student loan for tuition fees, you get a maintenance loan but unfortunately not tuition. You do however get tuition fee loan for years 4 and 5, but that still leaves you with 3 x £9000 to pay before reaching 4th year. A level requirements vary depending on the university and the year of application, however with a degree you only have to have the Chem A level anyway, but the grade you’ll have to research yourself, it’s either A at as level or B at a level or something like that. You don’t have to pay the money upfront, however you do have to pay £3000 in 3 instalments.

Most manage by saving, having family help, or working during the degree but that’s not easy either.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    Hi, as above the short answer is no unfortunately.