Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Is there any funding for medicine as a second degree?

I have a first class BSc in physics and I'm applying to GEM this year, although my UKCAT isn't the best as one section has dragged down my average. I have AABB at A level, and I think entry requirements for undergrad are at least AAA? I could sit another A level if that is acceptable, but I would like to know if there is any funding for medicine as a second degree, as I don't have £45,000 to pay upfront over the 5 years.

Thanks for any help
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by michelleworth)
    Is there any funding for medicine as a second degree?

I have a first class BSc in physics and I'm applying to GEM this year, although my UKCAT isn't the best as one section has dragged down my average. I have AABB at A level, and I think entry requirements for undergrad are at least AAA? I could sit another A level if that is acceptable, but I would like to know if there is any funding for medicine as a second degree, as I don't have £45,000 to pay upfront over the 5 years.

Thanks for any help
    You will get funding for all but around £3465 on a GEM course. Applying to the 5 year courses will mean that your first four years tuition fees would be unfunded and you would need £36K. Only a few 5 year courses require you to have AAA, most have separate requirements for grads. But yeah, you will need to pay.

ReputationRep:
    Summary of options here : https://www2.warwick.ac.uk/services/...es/medics2017/

And : http://www.rmbf.org/medical-students...second-degree/

Essentially, unless you have some 'private' money to plug the gaps, its probably a non-starter.

Submit reply
Turn on thread page Beta
Updated: October 13, 2017

University open days

• Heriot-Watt University
    School of Textiles and Design Undergraduate
    Fri, 16 Nov '18
  • University of Roehampton
    All departments Undergraduate
    Sat, 17 Nov '18