Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi fellow heriot watters,

I'm a international postgrad student that has sort of failed at making friends so far. Was sick during freshers and lived in a hotel until my accommodation was sorted. I'm living on campus now and after a busy week I have absolutely nothing to do on a Friday evening! I am bored out of my mind, I want to go out, have a few pints with a side of banter and good company!

Unfortunately I don't know people well enough to ask, I don't want to impose on people either. Most have already formed groups and I am a bit too late I'm afraid. I have joined a few societies, but it seems like events are months apart.

So! Any good places outside campus I can go and meet people?
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Hi Jonerys,

Even if you aren't in any way religious, I would highly recommend the Chaplaincy! A lot of our international students meet there for social events and trips.

The Chaplaincy is open to everyone from all backgrounds and cultures, people of all faiths and no religious faith are welcome.

Each Tuesday they do a lunchtime 'Soup Tuesday' event and on Wednesdays there is a meal from across the world where students cook for other students. They also often have weekend trips and events. For example, this weekend there's a weekend trip to Pitlochry and the Highlands and on 17th November there's a St Andrews night celebration!

I've popped in a few times for different reasons - everyone is super friendly and I've always been made to feel very welcome.

Check out: Events at the Chaplaincy

Once you make some new friends, you can invite them out for a few pints with a side of banter and good company! :beer:

Carole

(Original post by Jonerys)
    Hi fellow heriot watters,