Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Lou's Journey to Vet School (A*AA) Watch

ReputationRep:
    My Journey to Vet School

Well, where to begin.
    I'm Lou and I'm in year 13, just about to do my A levels. My dream is to be studying Veterinary Medicine at university next year. Scary, right?
    What else.. I have a particular interest in large animals and am currently the carer of three lovely - if sometimes troublesome - horses. My baby, who is often more troublesome than lovely, is a big grey called Max.

Name:  IMG_4178.JPG
Views: 64
Size:  132.9 KB

I'm studying Biology, Chemistry and Ancient History at A level alongside EPQ. I also work Saturdays at a local clothes shop and the occasional Sunday at a riding stables, plus I'm learning to drive. Fun, fun, fun.

This is an attempt to keep me motivated and track my progress as I work towards my A levels. Over the summer, I would also like to learn a language and travel a bit, maybe to Italy and the Mediterranean.

Predicted Grades
    Biology (OCR) - A*
    Chemistry (Edexcel) - A
    Ancient History (OCR) - A
    EPQ (Edexcel) - A
    (Achieved C in Maths AS)

Exam Dates
    • Chemistry: Paper One - 05/06/2018; Paper Two - 12/06/2018; Paper Three - 20/06/2018
    • Biology: Paper One (Biological Processes) - 07/06/2018; Paper Two (Biological Diversity) - 11/06/2018; Paper Three (Unified Biology a.k.a everything plus some extra "synoptic" stuff) - 18/06/2018

Plus driving test on 20/12/2017

Work Experience
    12 weeks +
    • Small Animal Vets - 3 weeks
    • Equine Vets - 1 week
    • Mixed Practice Vets/Referral Hospital - 1 week
    • Cattery and Kennels - 2 weeks
    • Dairy/Beef Farm - 1 week
    • Sheep, alpacas and miniature horse farm - 1 week (plus 2 days helping with premature lambs)
    • Alpaca Farm - 1 week
    • Riding Stables/Livery Yard - 2 weeks(-ish)

Plus some volunteering at agricultural shows and horse events, and some taster days.