Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

dropping out at the start of the second year at uni Watch

ReputationRep:
    i have been studying computer games development, and since starting i didnt enjoy it all it just wasnt for me, i chose this course thinking it would be something i would like but it turned out to be the complete opposite but i stuck to it and my depression and anxiety only grew, i stayed for the first year and barely passed, but now that im in my second year, i am just as worse as last year, i feel so much worse, im not good at the course at all, i have no friends at uni and im really miserable, i have been thinking about dropping out because i cant really take it anymore, but if i drop out what will happen to my loans and how would i repay them, i get the tuition loans and a maintenance one which is £1000 a term, im currently in my 4th week of the first semester, second year, can someone help me out?

ReputationRep:
    If you genuinely have depression, you can claim CPR for this year because technically now you’ve used two years of Student Finance.

Next year you can go back to same course for second year or start from scratch if your CPR is approved.

ReputationRep:
    what I wanna do is drop out and get a job so i can sort myself out, basically take a gap year where i can reevaluate what i wanna do because i dont know if i want to go back to uni but if i decide in the future i want to it would be a different course, im just wondering if i drop out now how do i repay the loans i took and do i have to pay anything immediately as i have already started my second year and for weeks into it?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dwyer)