The Student Room Group

Lazy? university lecturers et.al.

I am a secondary school teacher. I teach my students how to name chemicals based on what the UK A level specifications tell me is the 'right' way of doing things. Which in turn is based, largely, on what IUPAC says. I teach ethanoate, cm3, propan-2-ol and mol dm-3 etc etc etc.

Every year, universities get students who have been taught this way and the lecturers spend so much time and effort re-training those students with acetate, ml, isopropyl alcohol and M etc etc etc.

Every year they bang their heads against the wall, repeating the same battles and they do this over and over again, year after year after year. They must know they are never going to win. Surely it is time that they just accept what they are getting supplied with and rather than, yet again, try to change these students, change themselves and the way they teach/talk.

Original post by Pigster
I am a secondary school teacher. I teach my students how to name chemicals based on what the UK A level specifications tell me is the 'right' way of doing things. Which in turn is based, largely, on what IUPAC says. I teach ethanoate, cm3, propan-2-ol and mol dm-3 etc etc etc.

Every year, universities get students who have been taught this way and the lecturers spend so much time and effort re-training those students with acetate, ml, isopropyl alcohol and M etc etc etc.

Every year they bang their heads against the wall, repeating the same battles and they do this over and over again, year after year after year. They must know they are never going to win. Surely it is time that they just accept what they are getting supplied with and rather than, yet again, try to change these students, change themselves and the way they teach/talk.