Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Question:
    Let X=\left\lbrace x\in\mathbb{Z}:100000\leq x < 1000000\right\rbrace. Find |X| and find the number of elements of X that are divisible by 5.

Woeful Solution
    So |X| is 900000 but I am not sure how to show this. Should I define, for i\in\mathbb{Z}:1\leq i\leq 9000,

A_{i}=\left\lbrace a\in X: 99900+100i \leq x <100000+100i \right\rbrace.

And then observe A_{i}\subset X and that |A_{k}|=|A_{l}| for k,l\in\mathbb{Z}:1\leq k,l\leq 9000 and that this family of subsets is mutually disjoint.

Then |X|=9000|A_{i}|=9000\times100=90  0000.

Applying a similar logic for the second part. There are 20 numbers divisible by 5 in A_{1} so there are 180000 numbers divisible by 5 in X.

I feel this is either overkill or there is much neater way of writing this. Any help is greatly appreciated

I'm fairly new to this uni maths lark so I have no clue what they are expecting.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Cryptokyo)
    Question:
    Let X=\left\lbrace x\in\mathbb{Z}:100000\leq x < 1000000\right\rbrace. Find |X| and find the number of elements of X that are divisible by 5.

Woeful Solution
    So |X| is 900000 but I am not sure how to show this. Should I define, for i\in\mathbb{Z}:1\leq i\leq 9000,

A_{i}=\left\lbrace a\in X: 99900+100i \leq x <100000+100i \right\rbrace.

And then observe A_{i}\subset X and that |A_{k}|=|A_{l}| for k,l\in\mathbb{Z}:1\leq k,l\leq 9000 and that this family of subsets is mutually disjoint.

Then |X|=9000|A_{i}|=9000\times100=90  0000.

Applying a similar logic for the second part. There are 20 numbers divisible by 5 in A_{1} so there are 180000 numbers divisible by 5 in X.

I feel this is either overkill or there is much neater way of writing this. Any help is greatly appreciated

I'm fairly new to this uni maths lark so I have no clue what they are expecting.