Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I’m a mature student who has recently completed a level 3 extended diploma in engineering in addition to a maths A-level. I’m currently searching for an undergraduate course in Aerospace engineering but having difficulty telling which universities will accept my qualifications. From my research I’ve found that although BTECs are supposedly worth 3 a-levels in terms of UCAS points, it would seem most of the top universities won’t accept them.

My overall BTEC grade was D*D*D* - Equivalent to 168 UCASS tariff points

And I got an A in A-level maths - Equivalent to 48 UCASS tariff points

With these grades I was hoping someone would be able to tell me which would be some of the best universities I might have a chance of getting into to study Aerospace engineering. Any help or advice would be very much appreciated, thank you very much in advance.
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kambu)
    Hi everyone,

I’m a mature student who has recently completed a level 3 extended diploma in engineering in addition to a maths A-level. I’m currently searching for an undergraduate course in Aerospace engineering but having difficulty telling which universities will accept my qualifications. From my research I’ve found that although BTECs are supposedly worth 3 a-levels in terms of UCAS points, it would seem most of the top universities won’t accept them.

My overall BTEC grade was D*D*D* - Equivalent to 168 UCASS tariff points

And I got an A in A-level maths - Equivalent to 48 UCASS tariff points

With these grades I was hoping someone would be able to tell me which would be some of the best universities I might have a chance of getting into to study Aerospace engineering. Any help or advice would be very much appreciated, thank you very much in advance.