Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I’m currently applying for chemical engineering with a levels and looking at the entry requirements I meet the grades for second year entry but I was wondering how many people do go for second year entry and if any of you have any experience of this. Also what is it like being a fresher in second year and how easy is it to make friends as people would have found friends in first year.
    Also are you treated as a fresher in terms of accommodation.

Sorry for all these questions but I have no knowledge of Scottish Unis as I’ve heard that a lot of Scottish people either do highers and start year 1 at 17 or do advanced highers and start year 2 at 18 so would be in a similar position.

Thanks anyone who can help.

Tl:dr what’s your experience of second year entry.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    Currently debating wether to do first or second year entry too but for chemistry. I’m a Scottish student with highers and studying advanced highers now. Although I’m predicted As in my AH courses I may still go for first year because there’s a lot of uni life you will miss out on and you will still have to catch up on everything you’ve missed in first year. I know St. Andrews do an extra course to help you but the others just expect you to do it in spare time I think. As far as I’m aware a levels are in between highers and advanced highers in difficulty so there will be other stuff you may have missed too. But I was told that a lot of people who have done advanced highers and meet the second year entry but go for first then end up skipping classes because they get bored and fail at the end of the year. they get a resit but still isn’t great.