Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone!

I'm studying for my exam tomorrow and have been researching all day but it's going straight over my head and i cant understand this particular criteria

'Explain how cells are organised into tissues, tissues into organs, organs into organ systems and organ systems into organisms'

If anyone could help i'd be very grateful, thank you

ReputationRep:
    Cells are a single unit. different types of cells make up a tissue, different tissues make up organs, different organs make up an organ system, and finally make an organism

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mariejuana)
    Cells are a single unit. different types of cells make up a tissue, different tissues make up organs, different organs make up an organ system, and finally make an organism
    Do you have to state what cells make up the tissue and what tissues make up the organs?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mariejuana)
    Different types of cells don't make up tissues, lots of cells of the same type make up a tissue, and lots of cells of different types (i.e. lots of different tissues) make up an organ. I fell into the same trap when I was at school, just be careful with your definitions :P

ReputationRep:
    Cells are the first and most basic unit. When cells with similar functions come together, they make a tissue (eg. muscle tissue). When different types of tissues work together to perform a body function, for example the stomach, you get an organ. When these organs work together to perform a body process like digestion, you get an organ system (in this case its digestive system). All of these together make up an organism.

Hope this helped.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by amieb24)
    Hi everyone!

I'm studying for my exam tomorrow and have been researching all day but it's going straight over my head and i cant understand this particular criteria