Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Elective Planning: North America. Questions/Advice Request Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently a third year medical student and I'm thinking about planning my elective because I want to get things done early as possible.

My uni do finals at the end of fourth year, after which we have 4-6 weeks in the summer to do an elective. I was considering the US or Canada, which I understand require early applications due to high volume of applicants. I think it would be nice to get a different perspective on things in another developed country, maybe get involved in a bit of research if I'm lucky, and explore somewhere that's very different to my tiny hometown.

I'm interested in getting paeds experience, not sure what kind of paeds specifically. I'd like to keep my options open.

So here are my questions:
    • How difficult is it to get an elective in the US and in Canada?
    • Is it worth me doing Step 1 if I choose to go to the US? I'm considering maybe applying for jobs there after I graduate, so it would help me with that too.
    • Approximately how much money would I need to save up for everything? (flights, accommodation, food, leisure, admin fees etc)
    • Where would be better for paeds - US or Canada?
    • How early in advance would you suggest I start my application?
    • Do I need to get super high grades in my finals or will a pass do?
    • Any other suggestions / advice?

Thanks in advance.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bezoar)
    I'm currently a third year medical student and I'm thinking about planning my elective because I want to get things done early as possible.