Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Happy Sciencebean wants to be Geordie Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello!

I'm your average sciencebean who doesn't always get the highest grades and has to work to get things to grow big enough to stay in my sieve of brain. I'm fairly new to TSR and a month late to GYG, but I'm interested in joining for motivation and help with Y13, as well as helping me understand how to use this site.

So, I am an aspiring biomedical scientist - at university and as my career- in my second and last year of A levels. Here's a bit of a history lesson...

GCSE
    I achieved 4 A*s (in Maths and the sciences), 2 As (in Spanish and Geography) and 4 Bs (in English language and literature, Sociology and Religious Studies). I struggled and stressed most about my English language, achieving a D in the mock exams before the final exam. I was, however, very happy with my A*s, and surprised by physics.

A Levels
    I decided to take Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Sociology at AS and have dropped Chemistry for A2.

Predicted Grades
    I'm predicted 3 As at the end of this year, but I personally feel like I'm aiming for A* in Biology, A in Maths and a B in Sociology.

AS Grades
    I was slightly disappointed with my Bs in Biology and Maths and my Cs in Sociology and Chemistry. It didn't reflect where I'd been most of the year. Only my AS Chemistry grade and Maths count, so I'm retaking my C2 Maths module aiming to pull it up to an A, which would increase my UMS and theoretically give me an A at AS.

So...
    This year I'm also doing an EPQ on the future of medical testing; whether animals will ever be free. I'm currently on the research section and I think it's going well.