Turn on thread page Beta

Taking English International A-Levels as Private Candidate (Edexcel) watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

My name is Eden-Joy, and I'm from Malaysia. I'm planning to pursue my law degree (LLB) at the University of Hertfordshire, UK in 2018. I will need to take my A-Levels before I can do that, to be eligible to take the Malaysian Bar Exam. I'm planning to take English Language and Law for my A-Levels as a private candidate via the British Council.

A bit of a backstory: I have a Diploma in Law from a local college here, and a dear lecturer is helping me with notes and such, so law isn't as daunting to me as compared to English -- not so much for the language itself, but rather the lack of resources I possess in relation to this particular subject for A-Levels.

Could anyone help me out with recommendations for textbooks, etc. for English IAL (Edexcel) (YEN01)? I would be extremely grateful. Navigating the murky waters of A-Levels as a private candidate is surprisingly difficult.

Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    Hi Eden-Joy, I wondered if you’d had any luck with this?

I’m a Brit currently in Malaysia and I’m just about to start studying my a Levels from here as a private candidate.

I’m really struggling to find any information on how to go about this.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Rebecca787)

I’m a Brit currently in Malaysia and I’m just about to start studying my a Levels from here as a private candidate.

Hello, So very sorry for the late response. I haven't had time to check on this thread, what with last-minute studying for the IAL. Actually, I am still in the middle of it: I have my third paper the day after tomorrow. I hope you've made some progress in your search since you responded to this thread.