Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all!
    I'm trying to decide which career path I should take and was wondering if anyone has any experience in one/both and could help me out?

I have an undergraduate degree in Psychology, a PGCE in primary teaching, and have taught for one year in a mainstream primary school. I am currently studying for my Masters in Special and Inclusive Education at UCL.
    Following this year, I am in two minds about which career path I would prefer to go down and feel like I have two really good options.
    On one hand, I could go back in to teaching, with a focus on Special Educational Needs, eg. in a special school, SENCO role etc, and work my way up the school ranks. This way I think I would more hands on with the children, but having been a teacher already I know about all the not-so-fun extras that come with it... is this similar in a special school?
    On the other hand, I have always had a strong interest in Educational Psychology and have all the qualifications needed for the doctorate, and it would be a fantastic career. However I only have a few weeks left to apply, and I know it is extremely competitive, and not sure if I should undertake something so huge if I am not 100% sure!

Does anyone have any further insight and could give me an idea about the pros/cons of each etc. which I could maybe use to inform my decision?
    Thanks so much!

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I have been struggling with this too. Educational psychology is such a broad profession, you can work with babies, young children, and teenagers , you undertake research, you can work in departments which deal with education, social welfare and youth services, assessment centres, child psychiatry units and paediatric health centres. You're also involved in the development of educational policy, legislation and strategies to improve academic performance standards.