The Student Room Group

Didnt finish second year of uni can i reapply again?

So i studied psychology and got a 1:1 for my first year. My grades for the second year were between 1:1 to 2:1. I was under a lot of stress and depression and was struggling to focus for my second year. The university allowed me to take some exams during our resit period at august but i ended up not doing them after finding out my mums been cheating. I regret that decision now.

My question is will i be able to get student finance and apply to other universities again to retry my second year. And will i be able to go to a decently rank university? What are the chances.

If anyones been in a similar situation please let me know. Going under severe depression. I am planning to apply for next september so aka i wasted 2years of my life.

Thank you for reading.
Original post by Alphonse009
So i studied psychology and got a 1:1 for my first year. My grades for the second year were between 1:1 to 2:1. I was under a lot of stress and depression and was struggling to focus for my second year. The university allowed me to take some exams during our resit period at august but i ended up not doing them after finding out my mums been cheating. I regret that decision now.

My question is will i be able to get student finance and apply to other universities again to retry my second year. And will i be able to go to a decently rank university? What are the chances.

If anyones been in a similar situation please let me know. Going under severe depression. I am planning to apply for next september so aka i wasted 2years of my life.

Thank you for reading.

You get student finance for degree length +1 gift year. You have used tow years finance , so the state of your funding is degree length -1 i.e they will pay from year 2 onwards. that means if you can transfer into the 2nd year of uni, then you will get enough finance to finish your degree.