Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Terrible teacher- is it possible to teach yourself an entire A Level? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi

Background: I'm a mature student, started college last year, now in second year doing A Levels maths, biology and chemistry. The college is 'bad' anyway, best aim for students is to pass, getting straight A's is rare. Biology teacher was bad last year, half of As class got E's/U's and either got kicked off course or dropped it.

We've officially complained to college but as it's such a slow process of observations, surveys, setting targets for him to improve etc. I don't want to name college/ teachers/ go into too much detail as it's an ongoing issue now and I don't want to sabotage the process or give college a reason to not listen to the class.

My grades in internal end of topic tests last year dropped as low as D/E at christmas, so I started ignoring him, putting headphones in during class time and just teaching myself from the book. I got an A in my As exams, so it was a success! But as it's linear now they don't count anyway!

I'm concerned because I can teach myself the content and hit 70-80%, but I can't nail the trickier questions when you have to phrase things a certain way or apply knowledge. I think if I work my ass off all year I'll get an A again, but for the uni I really want to go to I need an A* in Biology - and it's really non-negotiable.

Has anyone else been in this position and succeeded- and how?

Are there resources I haven't found that will help?

How do I get hold of enough past paper questions & mark schemes considering the old spec is potentially different- I don't want to confuse myself/ waste time on stuff that's irrelevant?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    it is possibke
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    Yes. You could do it within a week if you really focused. You can do it over Christmas if you want.

ReputationRep: