Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys
    I’m currently in my first year of A levels studying maths, physics and psychology. When I was picking these subjects I was hoping to study astronomy or astrophysics, however I’ve had a change of heart. This was because I started volunteering at elderly care home and found my passion for helping people and caring for others it gave me great joy and happiness. Since then I have always considered my options into medicine and I just wanted to know if there is a way into medicine with the subjects I’m currently studying.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by beth be)
    Hi guys
    I’m currently in my first year of A levels studying maths, physics and psychology. When I was picking these subjects I was hoping to study astronomy or astrophysics, however I’ve had a change of heart. This was because I started volunteering at elderly care home and found my passion for helping people and caring for others it gave me great joy and happiness. Since then I have always considered my options into medicine and I just wanted to know if there is a way into medicine with the subjects I’m currently studying.
    Don't know much about it but look at foundation medicine courses. They're 6 years long and they'll teach you the science you need in the first year

ReputationRep:
    Why are you only studying three? Apart from foundation entry, you have no chance of getting into medicine as an undergraduate, without Chemistry A-level.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Volibear)
    Why are you only studying three? Apart from foundation entry, you have no chance of getting into medicine as an undergraduate, without Chemistry A-level.
    "Why are you studying three?" Is a bit of a silly question. The OP realises they need chemistry and don't have it, which is why they are asking about alternate routes into medicine.