Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Best subjects to take at national 5 level if I want to do medicine at university Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi there I know that I want to work in medicine at national 4 level I am currently studying the following subjects
    Maths
    English
    Physics
    Chemistry
    Biology
    Spanish
    PE & Extra PE
    Graph Comm

My school only offers 6 subjects at national 5 level but you can crash more subjects one you get to highers. So soon I am going to have to cut this list of subjects down to 6. Which would be the best ones if I want to do Medicine (hopefully cardiology). Someone told me that the 3 sciences will be a lot of work? I just want to give myself the best chance of success at getting into university to do medicine preferably in scotland.
    Thanks for your advice anyone that can offer any.

ReputationRep:
    The three sciences at N5 level really isn't too hard. If you've got a knack for science and you enjoy them all then why not? Of course Maths and English. And then with the last three I'll imagine the choice will be made for you depending on which one doesn't clash with the others. Can't go wrong with Spanish though.

ReputationRep:
    Triple science, English, Maths and a social subject or a language, so Spanish from your list.
    Take Physics, Chem, Bio, English and Maths to Higher and Bio, Chem and Maths to adv Higher. If you get 6A's at N5 and 5A's at higher you should get into any scottish uni, the English unis will want AAB at Adv higher because you start a year ahead of the scottish unis. Best of luck!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ferm4t)
    Triple science, English, Maths and a social subject or a language, so Spanish from your list.