Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I am a US student (come from a well-regarded US school with a degree in economics) looking to further my education with a masters degree that will hone my quantitative skills. I wish to ultimately hold a leadership position at either a government agency/NGO/think-tank.

I'm applying to some US MPP programs, but also wanted to expand to UK schools (and perhaps others in Europe) for a more quantitative-focused degree. There seem to be many LSE programs that could perhaps be a fit--their MPA, MSc in Public Policy and Administration, perhaps even an MSc in Economics. Any ideas of which programs are more well-regarded (I will likely return to the States afterwards), and which would be a better fit for someone who wants to work in policy? I'm also hoping for a program where students are NOT coming straight out of their undergraduate degrees, since I will have had four years of work experience under my belt.

I'm really looking for a practical, not theoretical, degree. I want something that will strengthen my data / analytical skills in a policy-context--not just coursework in theoretical political science and economics.

Any help would be appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    Given your background and your desire for a practical, quant focused degree you might want to look at the MSc in Social Research Methods.