Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How much coding/programming is there in a physics degree? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I was thinking of doing an online course on coding to write about in my personal statement as I've never done anything like it before but would it be worth it? Does a significant part of a physics undergrad degree take up coding and programming skills? Will an admissions tutor think it is valuable? I know it probably varies between universities but on average is it important enough to include?

ReputationRep:
    I was thinking the same thing. I may do one over the summer in preparation for university though. It'll never hinder you and even if it's not something they consider it may benefit you whilst at University.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by alwaysfergy)
    I was thinking the same thing. I may do one over the summer in preparation for university though. It'll never hinder you and even if it's not something they consider it may benefit you whilst at University.
    Yeah it does look interesting and been wanting to teach myself for a while now but was wondering whether it should go on my PS or not. When looking at the modules of the universities I'm applying to it's not very clear how much if any coding is included. Also watched some You Tube videos and from what I gathered coding is a far bigger part of studying physics in the US than in the UK

ReputationRep:
    About 1 module a year for years 1/2, with 50% of the module being programming. Plenty of opportunity to use programming on 3rd/4th year projects/experiments but no requirement to learn programming.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by G.Y)