Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am going to rant about the amount of homework set for the holidays by teachers. Now the holidays are there to relax the mind so the student does not burn out. Yes a few minutes a day for tick is expected but not hours.

I have just spent 5 hours doing some stuff the teacher set, which we didn't cover in class. So far I've watched 3 videos, done 3 lots of notes, 2 text book pages of questions, and 1 mock paper. I have got to do another 2 videos, 4 text book quizzes, 4 online quizzes, and research another subject.

That is all for one class.

Are teachers these days over the top with holiday homework, it's supposed to resting the student so they are fresh for the next half term.

This is without the obvious revision I need to do such as mind maps, index cards, cheat sheets etc for the subjects covered in the holiday homework.

I am a mature student, and it wasn't that bad in my day. Yes we'd get one text book page, some quizzes and revision, but not that lot.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Purdy7)
    I am going to rant about the amount of homework set for the holidays by teachers. Now the holidays are there to relax the mind so the student does not burn out. Yes a few minutes a day for tick is expected but not hours.

I have just spent 5 hours doing some stuff the teacher set, which we didn't cover in class. So far I've watched 3 videos, done 3 lots of notes, 2 text book pages of questions, and 1 mock paper. I have got to do another 2 videos, 4 text book quizzes, 4 online quizzes, and research another subject.

Are teachers these days over the top with holiday homework, it's supposed to resting the student so they are fresh for the next half term.

This is without the obvious revision I need to do such as mind maps, index cards, cheat sheets etc for the subjects covered in the holiday homework.